Key Learning Areas

We, at Our Lady of the Angels, aim to provide a comprehensive balanced curriculum that engages students in quality learning experiences across the six mandated key learning areas and Religious Education.

We endeavour to ensure that each of our students develops a love of learning, a thirst for knowledge, a healthy self-esteem, a respect for others, and a desire to know and follow their God.

The Key Learning Areas are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science & Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE)
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

The teaching and learning outcomes are based on the NSW Education Standards Authority syllabus documents. The curriculum is delivered in Stages:

  • Early Stage 1 - Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 - Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 - Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 - Years 5 and 6

For this reason, it is often practical for students to be engaged in learning tasks with students in another class but from within the same stage. This allows for the student’s development to occur at the appropriate pace.